Rally to Confirm a Social Structure of Ableism

Dear JStew,

I like political commentary. I like smart, witty political commentary. I like you and Colbert just fine.

And, hey, Rallies to Restore Sanity are great.

Except.

Sanity? Really?

So. Mob violence is insanity? Dog-whistling is insanity? Smear campaigns are insanity?

Violent partisanship = insanity. Got it.

I know what you meant, JStew, I really do. I know what you meant to say by insanity.

I know you didn’t mean to equate neurodivergence with evil.

But you did, JStew. You and your TAB network people are doing so right now. You’re making insanity a target for jokes, and a target for attack. And all the progressive people who go to your march and don’t question your language — you’re feeding them the idea that it’s somehow okay to be ableist as long as you’re suitably leftist and ID as progressive.

Which is so not okay.

Love,
Wednesday, who is ND

Leave a Reply

